Let me tell you about me...

Page 1 of 8 [ 116 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

werbert
Veteran
Veteran

05 Oct 2006, 11:55 pm

Hello, my name is Jack Werbert, Jr. I don't talk about myself on this site very much. I just use it as a dumping ground for my snarky comments. It is also useful in helping me see how fortunate I am, and that my life really could be a lot worse. I have also had a lot of fun with the great people here.

I am a student at a local community college, and this semester, I am taking a full course load for the first time since the disastrous spring of 2005. Not only that, but I am also doing an unpaid internship. Between school and work, and being driven to and fro, a good deal of my time, perhaps 35 hours a week, is used up. I am doing well so far in balancing everything out. In fact, I just received A's on three tests I took last week. However, I am still worried.

You see, my work ethic, for the past few years, has come in cycles. In the spring of even-numbered years, I pass any class. After that, though, it usually fades, culminating in some self-made disaster that invariably causes me to fail my classes. Last spring and summer, I took three classes, passing all of them with flying colors. Unfortunately, we are now heading into the winter, and I fear my productivity is about to take a sharp decline.

I don't know if I'm any smarter than before, or any stronger, but I know I'm going to do my damnedest to prevent my various failings from throwing away a promising start of the semester.

One-Winged-Angel
Veteran
Veteran

06 Oct 2006, 12:16 am

|\/||_|574.-|) \|/1|_|_ |)13

Quatermass
Veteran
Veteran

06 Oct 2006, 12:25 am

One-Winged-Angel wrote:

He means "Mustard will die." God, I'm horrifed, I can actually read this shite. He's STILL going on about it....

I know how it feels for the ol' work ethic to come and go, although for me, to work really well in a subject, I must be actually interested in it wholheartedly...