Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Abgal64
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

05 Dec 2011, 2:33 pm

As many of you have probably figured out, I am a linguiphile. I know all sorts of linguistic jargon, I have heard of languages like Dyirbal and Halkomelem, yes, they both exist, and I am currently well into studying Sumerian (though once I become conversant I think I will move onto Swahili.)

So, I would like to know what people here think is the best language, or best languages, and why. By best, I mean in terms of the language itself, not the writing system nor what is contained in it.

With that said, I think the best language, which I studied a bit a while ago, is Quechua; actually a dialect cluster, but let us not worry about that, as many "languages", such as Mandarin and Persian, are actually dialect clusters.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quechua_languages

This is why: Quechua is perfectly regular from all I have read about it; even the pronouns decline like nouns: Qam for thou becomes Qamta for thee and Qamkunap for your, just like wasi for house, wasikuna for houses, or T'ikap for flower's, &c.. It is gender neutral save for a few words (like mama for mother and tata for father) and it lacks grammatical gender. Finally, Quechua can make new words at will from a relatively small number of roots by compounding and/or by adding suffixes, much like many Indigenous Languages of the Americas and unlike English, with its huge amount of Classical compounds and random neologisms to partially compensate for lacking this charicteristic, known as polysynthesis in linguistics.

So, those are my reasons for choosing Quechua; what are yours for choosing whatever language you choose is?

iamnotaparakeet
Veteran
Veteran

05 Dec 2011, 2:58 pm