Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

barnabear
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

15 Dec 2011, 8:04 pm

I am an engineer in a large company, and have considerable in depth technical knowledge and experience. I was diagnosed Asperger syndrome six months ago, quite late in life.

My immediate colleagues have just been told of my diagnosis of Asperger syndrome.

Some I told face to face individually a few weeks ago and they seemed to be pretty supportive. Some I hadn't told, perhaps the more difficult ones.

There have been difficult team dynamics caused by a senior colleague who should know better, and increasingly I have felt a sense of isolation - that my specific skills aren't valued and that there is a lack of trust in my professional competence and experience.

Eventually I was ambushed in a meeting by this senior colleague. He wanted to prohibit me from using my skills and experience because he might have to read a book to understand my technology and he couldn't be bothered!! !

:wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall:
His comments were so stupid, and spoken with such force that it feels like someone is punching me repeatedly in the brain.
:wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall: :wall:

I was so upset by his comments that I walked out of the meeting (I have never done this before) and went straight home. I have felt a strong urge to hide since.

I discussed the matter with my manager, who agreed that he needed to challenge my colleague's behaviour. However he also felt that my colleagues need to know my diagnosis to understand some of the issues.

So earlier this week he circulated an email to my colleagues explaining my diagnosis and asking for their discretion and support.