Single, 48, and feeling like Spock.

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

JanJan
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

20 Dec 2011, 8:08 pm

I'm a 48 year old woman who scored 32 on the Aspie test. I have limited dating experience, none of which I recall ever went well. i was lucky enough to get involved with a woman for 14 years who taught me how to dress, use makeup, act appropriately, talk to people, etc. That relationship has since ended and I'm trying to get out and meet people.
I've had people say they think I'm dead inside. i've been called a charming android. What everyone is saying is that I don't show emotion. Really, i just go home and cry because I don't know what they want.

I know I feel emotion, but I don't know what I'm supposed to do more of to show it.
Does anyone know of any resources that can help one learn how to show emotion. (I'm feeling a little like spock here)

bruinsy33
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

20 Dec 2011, 11:26 pm

JanJan wrote:
I'm a 48 year old woman who scored 32 on the Aspie test. I have limited dating experience, none of which I recall ever went well. i was lucky enough to get involved with a woman for 14 years who taught me how to dress, use makeup, act appropriately, talk to people, etc. That relationship has since ended and I'm trying to get out and meet people.
I've had people say they think I'm dead inside. i've been called a charming android. What everyone is saying is that I don't show emotion. Really, i just go home and cry because I don't know what they want.

I know I feel emotion, but I don't know what I'm supposed to do more of to show it.
Does anyone know of any resources that can help one learn how to show emotion. (I'm feeling a little like spock here)
Not sure why you think a lack of emotion is the problem with why you are single.Are you wishing you could show your emotion /feelings towards someone that you are interested in ?

Brianruns10
Veteran
Veteran

21 Dec 2011, 12:06 am