Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

Vashna
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

08 May 2012, 11:00 pm

I have a rather embarrassing issue. As a computer user of many years, I do not wish to sound or be treated as though I were a dork for doing this. Please forgive me for having acted like one. I received some spam email recently that looked like it came from a legitimate domain, so I clicked the unsubscribe link in the hopes I could stop receiving it. Yes, yes, I know I should never open spam email but it appeared to be from a legitimate sender.

Indeed, the unsubscribe link pointed to what I believed was a legitimate domain name at the time. However, my spam intake has nearly doubled. While I can put up with the annoyance as my email provider accurately marks most spam, I wanted to ensure that there were no other privacy issues involved. I do not believe so, as the only piece of information I had to input was my email address. However, I am an extremely security minded individual.

Thank you for any input.

cinbad
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

09 May 2012, 1:08 am

I don't think any chastisement is necessary.
"Sometimes the punishment of foolishness, is the result."~me, just now, you can quote me

RazorEddie
Veteran
Veteran

09 May 2012, 3:50 am

As long as they only have your email address there isn't any real security risk. It is just a right royal PITA when you get deluged with spam. If your ISP is marking most of the spam mails you can set up a filter in your email software to automatically route them to trash so you won't even see them.

One useful trick is to have a throwaway email address for anything that you think may result in getting spammed. When the spam levels get intolerable you close down that address and use a different one. There are plenty of free email providers out there.

questor
Veteran
Veteran

09 May 2012, 4:07 am