Page 1 of 3 [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

amboxer21
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

04 Jun 2012, 1:21 am

I am running Arch Linux, on Gnome3.
I am proficient in C programming, GTK UI programming, sockets, and bash/awk. I am a new to NASM assembly language, python, and JavaScript. I want to learn Haskel, Ruby and possibly Java.

What Linux distro are you using?

What programming languages do you know?

MarthaCannary
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

04 Jun 2012, 1:28 am

Triple booting Win7, BackTrack5 and Ubuntu On an Asus 1215n netbook.

My Main machine only has win7. Mostly used for gaming.

nostromo
Veteran
Veteran

04 Jun 2012, 1:33 am

I don't do programming, however I use Debian a bit. The reason I use Debian is apt-get :heart: and you can easily make Debian a really lightweight unbloated install (e.g. use Ice window manager) which still runs OK on older laptops. I use these as packet collecters (I'm a network engineer) because they are readily available and portable, and I take them to places and leave them running things like snort and ntop.
I have tried distros like Ubuntu which work great if you have horsepower, but run really badly on older stuff, (as bad if not worse than Windows).

amboxer21
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

04 Jun 2012, 1:50 am

nostromo wrote:
I don't do programming, however I use Debian a bit. The reason I use Debian is apt-get :heart: and you can easily make Debian a really lightweight unbloated install (e.g. use Ice window manager) which still runs OK on older laptops. I use these as packet collecters (I'm a network engineer) because they are readily available and portable, and I take them to places and leave them running things like snort and ntop.
I have tried distros like Ubuntu which work great if you have horsepower, but run really badly on older stuff, (as bad if not worse than Windows).