Is it a bad idea to date someone who is 18 years older?

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

minotaurheadcheese
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

11 Jul 2012, 1:23 pm

Well, I've been chatting with someone on OkCupid a few times who seems really interesting. I've enjoyed talking to him and we seem to have a lot in common. We haven't talked about meeting up yet, but it seems like we might if we continue to talk, as he is quite local.

The only problem-- if, in fact, it is a problem-- is that he's 42.

I'm not sure how to feel about this and whether I want to continue with it. I have zero dating experience and I don't want to make a huge mistake. I do often find myself attracted to older men because they seem to have better attitudes and know themselves better, but even for me 18 years is a very large gap. On the one hand, I feel like if we're compatible then age shouldn't matter that much; but I'm worried about getting to know each other better and then starting to feel that it's creepy or something, or discovering that we can't relate because of the age difference.

What do you guys think? Would you consider dating someone this much older (or, for that matter, younger) than you? Terrible idea, or worth a shot to see how it goes?

"And there are days when I would be away . . . Oh, wherever men of my sort used to go, long ago. Wandering on paths that other men have not seen. Behind the sky. On the other side of the rain." -Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

JanuaryMan
Veteran
Veteran

11 Jul 2012, 1:31 pm

I would consider it but it's worth bearing in mind such relationships may not last.

He's 42 and people these days stay in good health for longer, plus there's plenty of mileage left before any serious tastes change.
I'd say give him a chance if you like him and see what you think after a couple of dates :)

McAnulty
Toucan
Toucan

11 Jul 2012, 1:47 pm