Career Advice. Currently working helpdesk

Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

SolitaryOutsider
Butterfly
Butterfly

11 Aug 2012, 11:21 pm

I occasionally lurk here. Just coming to seek a little advice. First, a little background: I have a steady help desk job for the past eight months, it pays the bills, and that's about it. I kind of got the job because of a contact high in command. I majored in Asian studies and my passion was Japanese. I still study it now in my free time, but I'm not at a level to be a translator or use it for work. At the same time, my IT skills are too low to find a job with a decent salary, and I'm not sure what I like to do in IT. My job is easy enough, minus the fact I hate talking to end users on the phone (which unfortunately is where all my work comes from). My job basically feels like I'm an underpaid actor who fixes stuff that people are too dumb/impatient/etc to do a Google search.

With that said, I do realize not everyone knows how to solve computer problems. I realize it's not the end users responsibility to have basic computing knowledge. But I can't help myself for hating to associate with those type of people day in and out. Now saying this, I treat all customers the way they want to be treated. I do my job to the best of my ability.

But I really don't know what to do to advance my career. I tried to look into networking, since it there isn't much human contact with people, but I honestly couldn't find the material interesting. I thought about Windows administration, but that's more work to deal with end users. I've tried learning programming languages like Python and C, and I can get my head around the concepts, but honestly I can't think of something I would want to write a program for. Programming seems like an art where you're given tools to give great things to accomplish with if you have the imagination for it.