Questions about the job hunt and hiring process

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

gsilver
Veteran
Veteran

11 Dec 2006, 8:19 pm

1. Is it better to custom-tailor a resume for a specific job, or produce a single resume that shows your strengths?

2. I'll be getting a master's degree soon, but I have very little work experience. Briefly, what does this mean to employers, what kind of starting salary should I request (I'm a Computer Science major), and is it better to look for a job in my area of interest (security) that are difficult to find, or "springboard" off a more easily found job (such as software test/developer)?

3. Who should I send my resume into? I've been using monstertrak, but I've heard that a lot of employers don't advertise their "new college graduate"-type jobs.

4. How long after sending in a resume do interested employers usually respond?

5. If the potential employer is located in another city/state, what kind of distance interviews are performed?

6. If the potential employer is located in another city/state, whose responsibility is it to pay for transportation to get to the on-site interview?

7. What can I expect from the interviews?

8. After the interview, how quickly do employers respond?

9. How is relocation handled?

julieme
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

11 Dec 2006, 11:51 pm

Hi - I manage a group of people at work (High tech company that makes medical equipment).
So here are the answers based on what I've been involved with.

1) Tailor the resume to different types of jobs. The characteristics we look for in an R&D programmer are different from those that work well in managing databse infrastructure.