Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Griffles
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

13 Oct 2012, 11:56 am

Hi there, I'm Griff and I suffer from dyspraxia, and my partner was diagnosed with autism about a month ago. We've been together for close to five years now, living together for two. We have a fairly strong and close relationship but there is a slight issue we have been having that I would like some help with.

Surprisingly he is very good with communicating what he feels and why, even if he may not fully understand it. It's me who struggles, and it's me who is looking for some help here as to how best I can convey them to him. My issue is that I tend not to tell him, for fear of annoying him or not knowing if he is interested.
Can anyone help? I'm not that good at communicating in person how I feel and why, I never bring it up and I want to be able to do so. Has anyone got any tips for how I can clearly communicate with him these things?

glasstoria
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

13 Oct 2012, 12:35 pm

I am also bad at communicating these things in person. I don't want to bother someone.

What I personally really like (and this sounds silly but bear with me) are those little magnet sets that have happy/sad/smart/cheeriful/silly faces on them, and then a little magnetic frame that usually says something like "Today I feel:" and you just take the frame and place it over whatever little emotive face matches your mood of the day or moment.

I know it sounds silly and possibly childish, but I say-whatever works!
It is better than keeping it inside until it becomes a problem. (I have a set of the magnets that is the smurfs with their different moods and it is sort of cute and funny)