Prospective employer slow to respond to emails

Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

Pabalebo
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

17 Apr 2013, 2:08 pm

Background: I'm in my last semester of college. I have a job in mind for this summer that I really want while I take a few months to figure out for sure what I want to do after that. I think I'm extremely well-qualified and I'm extremely anxious about getting it. The email exchange follows. Do you think it would be appropriate for me to ask when I would know if I've got an interview or is that being too pushy? Note: The person I've been emailing is a secretary and doesn't make any hiring decisions. Also, the oldest emails are at the bottom, because Microsoft Outlook is stupid.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sent: Wednesday, April 17, 2013 1:09 PM
To: Bielli, James L @ LSC
Subject: RE: VT DEC Environmental Technician Application

Yes, thank you for your interest. Friday the 12th was the last day for people to apply, so now the Lab Director is reviewing the applications he’s received and will schedule interviews.

Alison

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sent: Wednesday, April 17, 2013 12:00 PM
To: Farnsworth, Alison
Subject: FW: VT DEC Environmental Technician Application

Dear Ms. Farnsworth,

I am writing to reiterate my interest in the Environmental Technician position this summer and to inquire about the status of my application. I feel that my experience, training, and skill set make me an excellent candidate for the position. I look forward to hearing from you regarding this matter.

James L. Bielli
Lyndon State College
Class of 2013 Atmospheric Sciences/Applied Mathematics
2012-2013 President - Lyndon State College Track & Field Club
Member of Sigma Zeta Mathematics & Science Honor Society

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------