I'm NT, bf is AS. Question re: stress and shutting down

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

articulate2me
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

17 Jun 2013, 11:17 am

Hi, this is my first time here. I'm hoping to gain some insight into the mind of my 30 yr old AS bf. He has shut down and cut all communication with me. His last words were loving... no dispute or changes happening between us. I suspect that he's overwhelmed with a recent move, money/job issues, computer crashing, and an impending visit by his father (whom he hasn't seen in 15 years). I would expect anyone to be spiralling out of control with all of those stressors hitting at once, but it's been 3 weeks and I've not heard from him (I do know that he's physically okay, though). My question is this: Since he's not returning phone calls or texts (we don't live in the same state), is it reasonable for me to believe that he has temporarily put me on hold while he works through the stress and finds solutions... or am I deluding myself and he has replaced me with a new special interest? Is a shut down of this duration within the realm of normal? I've been sending periodic "I have faith in you" kinds of texts... wanting to give him space, but let him know that I'm there for him when he's ready. Should I stop? I'm really struggling with this... we've been together 18 months and I just don't know how to help either one of us...

Thoughtful comments would be greatly appreciated. :)

Feralucce
Veteran
Veteran

17 Jun 2013, 11:38 am

As much as I wish I had an answer for you... None of us can answer that... we all have different issues and can only view the world through the warped lens of our own experience and perceptions... As such, what would be true for me, would not be true for another.

Honestly, you need to tell him something along the lines of "I know this is NT stuff, but I need to know... do I wait for you, or are we over? I need clarification."

BelleAmi
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

17 Jun 2013, 11:56 am