Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Which Web-Browser do you use?
Firefox 64%  64%  [ 21 ]
Opera 15%  15%  [ 5 ]
Safari 3%  3%  [ 1 ]
Konqueror 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Netscape 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Lynx....AHEM 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Internet Explorer 15%  15%  [ 5 ]
Other (Please Specify) 3%  3%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 33

andy1976uk
Banned
Banned

User avatar

Joined: 9 Dec 2006
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,182

24 Jan 2007, 7:32 pm

Is anyone else experiencing serious speed issues with Firefox 2 in Windows? The thing's grabbing close to 100% of the CPU despite only having a few dozen tabs open, never had that problem with FF 1.5. Any ideas? Is there a way to determine the amount of resources going to each tab and to each extension?

Oh, and there's a poll too, which browser are you using and why? :D

....My answers: Firefox 2 and IE 7 in Windows, Firefox 2 and Konqueror in Linux and Opera on Phone.



Anubis
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 6 Sep 2006
Age: 131
Gender: Male
Posts: 13,838
Location: Mount Herculaneum/England

24 Jan 2007, 7:33 pm

I.E 7.


_________________
Lalalalai.... I'll cut you up!


MrMark
Abstract Data Type
Abstract Data Type

User avatar

Joined: 3 Jul 2006
Age: 61
Gender: Male
Posts: 10,291
Location: Tallahassee, FL

24 Jan 2007, 8:17 pm

I saw Netscape 8 today. It can be rendered to look like IE or FF and you can switch between the two with one click. I might have to get me one.

I use IE7 with no tabs. Can't stand those things. If I could put 'em at the bottom of the window, where I naturally reach when I want to change channels...



TheMachine1
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,092
Location: 9099 will be my last post...what the hell 9011 will be.

24 Jan 2007, 8:26 pm

Opera 9.02 It can scale pages up (including the pictures) that makes it very easy to read. Though one problem is alot sites do not support Opera (even though it is highly compliant with web standards, microsoft a$$ kissers! )



ahayes
Banned
Banned

User avatar

Joined: 2 Dec 2006
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,746

24 Jan 2007, 9:32 pm

I'm using Safari. I thought I would go to FF but I just haven't missed it. I haven't had ANY speed issues with FF2.0, I wonder what could be going on.



andy1976uk
Banned
Banned

User avatar

Joined: 9 Dec 2006
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,182

24 Jan 2007, 9:37 pm

ahayes wrote:
I'm using Safari. I thought I would go to FF but I just haven't missed it.


A Mac-user friend of mine ditched Safari for Firefox, but I never asked him why. *fires-up email client* Someone else told me Safari had quite a few security issues....what do you make of it?



Quote:
I haven't had ANY speed issues with FF2.0, I wonder what could be going on.


Seems to be fine until I get to about 30 tabs, which FF 1.5 could handle perfectly. Maybe I've installed a bad extension.



atxa
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 3 Jun 2006
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 502
Location: Can

24 Jan 2007, 9:41 pm

I'm using Firefox 3.0a1 (Gran Paradisio) since 2 weeks and a half.

Except a few bugs with web site who are coded in ASP, it work well.



V111
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

User avatar

Joined: 8 Jul 2004
Gender: Male
Posts: 375
Location: Iam V001 as well

25 Jan 2007, 11:53 am

I like the non gimped full mozilla product called Seamonkey.
http://www.mozilla.org/projects/seamonk ... monkey1.1/
I find firefox to be less choice less control. For example in Seamonkey you can turn moving gif files off, better cookie control. Do custom install brower only. Firefox to me is the easy reader of web browsers. 8O


_________________
"Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away." Philip K. Dick


TennisFanatic
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

User avatar

Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Gender: Male
Posts: 426

29 Jan 2007, 11:07 pm

I've tried both Safari and Opera...

Safari hardly has any features at all and Opera is LAME because it's not widely supported.

Microsuck Internet Exlorer isn't as "secure" as Mozlla Firefox, its pop-up blocker is less-than-perfect, and hardly has ANY add-ons AT ALL! I switched to FF about three months ago, and to this date, have only had one pop-up slide by the built-in pop-up blocker...

In what other ways does Seamonkey differ from Firefox??



NeoPlatonist
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

User avatar

Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 363
Location: Indiana

30 Jan 2007, 12:13 am

I haven't had problems with my install of Firefox 2.0.0.1 besides the usual memory leak *grrrrrrrr*. I've been surfing for a few hours and it is using 106MB of RAM. I have plenty of RAM on my system so it isn't really a problem for me but I would not recommend FF for people with a slow computer or limited RAM.

IE-7 is ok. I was already heavily into FF when it came out so I haven't used it all that much.

Safari annoys me.

I haven't messed with the other browsers.


_________________
~Michael


nicklegends
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

User avatar

Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Posts: 422
Location: California

30 Jan 2007, 12:16 am

Firefox. It's done everything I've needed it to do.



V111
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

User avatar

Joined: 8 Jul 2004
Gender: Male
Posts: 375
Location: Iam V001 as well

30 Jan 2007, 12:24 am

Seamonkey has full image,form,cookie and pop up managers. It's more complete than firefox has composer. It's the full mozilla product with a new name.


_________________
"Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away." Philip K. Dick


Devin_J
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

User avatar

Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Gender: Male
Posts: 18

30 Jan 2007, 8:44 pm

Lynx is the only browser that works fast on my laptop, other than other console-based web browsers of course.



TheMachine1
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,092
Location: 9099 will be my last post...what the hell 9011 will be.

30 Jan 2007, 9:47 pm

Devin_J wrote:
Lynx is the only browser that works fast on my laptop, other than other console-based web browsers of course.


You must be an old geezer. Lynx was vintage 1995 :) My first website I tested to make sure it was Lynx friendly.



Ticker
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Age: 50
Gender: Female
Posts: 3,139

06 Feb 2007, 3:03 am

I wanted to try Firefox, but my computer won't let me. :( The Norton Internet Security program won't allow FF to run once I download it because it sees only IE as the prefered browser. The FF browser will open but it can't load a page thanks to Norton. I've try reinstalling it with Norton deactivated and also tried to change the security settings and nothing would work. Probably uninstalling Norton would be one solution however I don't have the disk because I just bought this new computer last winter and the Norton was preinstalled on it.