About making mistakes and following vague instructions.

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

rebbieh
Veteran
Veteran

20 Oct 2013, 11:22 pm

Hi,

It's been quite a long time since I last posted in this forum. I think that's mainly because I had to stop myself from obsessing about whether or not I've got some form of ASD. I've gotten much better at not obsessing about it that much (I've even started to think that I probably don't have it, but I really can't know that for sure) though the whole situation is still an unsolved mystery. I'm still not diagnosed and I've been waiting to get assessed for over a year now. Last time I spoke to the people who are going to assess me they said we'll start sometime in the beginning of 2014. That's all I know right now. Anyway, I decided to write here again because I'd like some advice on something. I hope that's ok. Sorry in advance for the wall of text.

I'm a biomedical student, which means I spend quite a bit of time in the lab. I haven't been studying for that long so I'm still not comfortable there (though I really like being in the lab in general). It takes a long time for me to adapt to new situations and I'm really scared of making mistakes (not only in the lab but all the time).

Last week we did a synthesis lab in organic chemistry, which means we've been dealing with a lot of dangerous chemicals. Chemicals which can cause burns, are toxic when inhaled, irritating to the skin, harmful to the eyes, toxic to the environment, very flammable etc. There are a lot of safety precautions you need to take and rules you need to follow. I get really worried about making mistakes and for example accidentally pouring something down the drain which should be disposed of in the "hazardous waste" containers. I sometimes also get "flashes" about things exploding as I handle them etc. I worry about making mistakes that could mess up the projects/experiment as well, so not only mistakes that could potentially harm myself or others.