Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Hope4Alex
Butterfly
Butterfly

08 Feb 2007, 11:17 am

I've read about many Aspie's that have higher than average IQ's and are very articulate but not much about those that are not doing well or didn't do well academically. Is this because there is a focusing issue or just because of disinterest in most things being taught.

krex
Veteran
Veteran

08 Feb 2007, 12:23 pm

I was a B student but told I had an A potential(that got old after a few years,I cringe at the word potential).My issues....

I do not only not have good rote memory,my memory is for crap in all things.Dont ask me my address,zip or phone #,or my boyfriend or bosses name,when stressed.I remember with repitition, hands on or observation.

I did not care about grades I cared about "knowing",this lead to me studying and learning the material and then not caring about the tests,papers,homework enough to turn them in.

I was always forgetting to bring my homework or hand it in or couldnt find it.

In college,I would spend days researching topics(often getting side-tracked by a more interesting sub-catagory),I would collect way to much info and not know how to leave any thing out(it was all important to me)and my spelling and grammar were horrid(pre-computers)all this and my desire to produce something "perfect" made me either not hand in finished papers because they were not up to my standards or ask for many extensions.....then there is procrastination.

Visit my wool sculpture blog
http://eyesoftime.blogspot.com/

dexkaden
Veteran
Veteran

08 Feb 2007, 2:16 pm

krex wrote:
I was a B student but told I had an A potential(that got old after a few years,I cringe at the word potential).My issues....

I do not only not have good rote memory,my memory is for crap in all things.Dont ask me my address,zip or phone #,or my boyfriend or bosses name,when stressed.I remember with repitition, hands on or observation.