Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Cafeaulait
Veteran
Veteran

01 Feb 2014, 5:53 pm

I just feel so confused, sad, and annoyed at the same time. I had a weekend job at a furniture store. Today I got told I wasn't gonna get a contract renew. I will stop at the end of february. I asked my boss why they would end my contract. They said they could tell I was struggling to multitask at the cash register and that I often lost view of the big picture when I was doing tasks in the store.

I just feel so bad about myself now. It made me doubt my capacities. Am I intelligent enough? I am a masters university student and I can't even function in a job that is 'below my level'. This just makes me think what is wrong with me.

I needed to get it out guys. I am not good enough.

Willard
Veteran
Veteran

01 Feb 2014, 6:22 pm

Cafeaulait wrote:
I just feel so confused, sad, and annoyed at the same time. I had a weekend job at a furniture store. Today I got told I wasn't gonna get a contract renew. I will stop at the end of february. I asked my boss why they would end my contract. They said they could tell I was struggling to multitask at the cash register and that I often lost view of the big picture when I was doing tasks in the store.

I just feel so bad about myself now. It made me doubt my capacities. Am I intelligent enough? I am a masters university student and I can't even function in a job that is 'below my level'. This just makes me think what is wrong with me.

At that job, maybe. I don't know what was meant about "big picture" tasks, but that is a remark often leveled at Aspergians (I've heard it said about myself many times). It always seems to mean "Your Big Picture doesn't match OUR Big Picture, and we're in control, so you're out."