Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Tufan
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

30 Jul 2014, 8:43 pm

Hi

First of all, I'm glad I found this forum. I like to read about psychological conditions. But reading about it is different than actually reading people's experience with the disorder. And I didn't know that people with autism are aware of their condition until I found this site. One of my favorite celebrities' son is diagnosed with autism. So, seeing adults/teenagers expressing themselves quite well on this forum made me happy.

But I didn't find this forum while researching about autism. In fact, I was googling my strange habit to see if there's anyone else doing it. I came across a topic talking about stimming on this forum. And decided that I should write here about my habit. It is kinda weird though; I like to rub my index fingers to/against carpet. And my toes. But mostly index fingers. I have been doing this since 10 years(at least) I guess. Not sure how it started. I don't know why I do this but it feels good. It doesn't feel good when I get obsessed with it and do it till it reaches to a certain number I pick in my mind. But usually, it makes me feel better. It's not any carpet by the way, it has to be rough like office carpets. Sometimes I do it so much my fingertips hurt for a couple of days. Of course when they're back to normal, I restart doing it. I don't feel the urge to do it when I'm not near a carpet, but when I sit on the floor, it's hard to resist touching/rubbing it with my toes or fingers. I tried to quit it for many times. A few years ago, my favorite carpet(it was really rough, I loved it) got changed. Of course the new carpet was soft and I didn't like it that much. I was glad that it might help me to quit. But even though I didn't love to rub that soft carpet, I still didn't stop. And you know, after a while the new carpet gets rougher. So I just kept doing it. Actually I promised myself countless times that that's the last time I'm doing it but I restarted again an