Does anyone else have trouble tying knots?

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

mr_bigmouth_502
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2014, 10:30 am

I'm trying to shorten a cable, specifically the one on my Xbox 360 controller, by following this guide, but I just can't wrap my head around it. http://www.instructables.com/id/USB-Cor ... /?ALLSTEPS When I was younger I never learned how to tie my shoes properly either, and I ended up just inventing my own way of tying them. The way people showed me just did not make sense.

Is this a normal autism trait? Can anyone here help me shorten my cable (non-destructively, of course)?

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2014, 10:34 am

I don't know if it's an autism trait, per se.

I'm not very good with knots, either.

My feeling about tying shoes: As long as you achieve the desired results, who the F--- cares about the methodology used to achieve the results.

nebrets
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2014, 10:56 am

I am great with knots. I know at least 10 knots off the top of my head.

seaturtleisland
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2014, 11:25 am

I didn't learn to tie my shoelaces until I was 17.

SameStars
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2014, 12:32 pm

I do have some difficulties with it. I couldn't tie my shoelaces until age 12, and during sailing camp (years ago) the knot tying part was incredibly frustrating.

emtyeye
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2014, 12:39 pm

I don't know how long it took me to tie my shoes, but mostly I am terrible with knots. I once sat by a nine year old for an hour while he showed me a simple knot he knew and then said over and over, 'Now you try!" And I did, failing to the end.

Strangely, I do well at untying knots.

The one you show the video of I do know because it is also a good way to fold up extension cords and I used to have to do a lot of that. It is a good one to know, IMO.

babybird
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2014, 12:44 pm

I don't even know if I can tie a Knot. I think I must have tied them at some point.