Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

tehtactics
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

25 Aug 2014, 1:27 am

Good afternoon everyone.

My name is Darren and I am currently a student at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) in Australia. This is in the middle of the Central Business District of a large city. I have noticed in my short time studying here that my studies are actually somewhat impeded by the lack of a quiet area with a little personal space due to my sensory sensitivities. I don't think I am the only one. So I have decided to ask the administration for the use of one of their rooms to turn into a sensory sensitive friendly area where people with difficulties like mine can find a little peace and study effectively.

Unfortunately I believe the sensory sensitivities to be one of the lesser known issues we have to deal with and I don't believe my ideas and suggestions alone will convince anyone to give my proposition serious consideration. So In my e-mail to the relevant people I am planning to include a link to this thread and it is my hope that they will find people in support of a sensory friendly area. I want them to know that this will benefit someone other than me. That this is something worthwhile.

If you can take a second to offer a sentence of support that would be enough. If you could take slightly more than a second I would like to ask you to write out how your sensory sensitivities affect you and how a sensory friendly area would help you I would be very grateful.