Page 1 of 2 [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

SariaFan931
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

16 May 2015, 11:01 am

My biggest passion is geology,and in particular, mineralogy. I have a collection of several stones that I have been collecting since I was ten years old. i love geology because it teaches me more about the Earth and its natural processes.

Let me share some highlights of my collection if I may. Keep in mind that I did not collect a lot of these out in the field, but rather I purchased most of them online.

Natural blue topaz. 5,220 carats (2.3 lbs/1,044 grams). Canta Galo Mine in Nova Era, Minas Gerais, Brazil.

Iridium (Ir) ingot. 5 grams. Smelted in the US from iridium metal powders refined from platinum ores in South Africa.

Ruby (corundum). 2,608 carats (1.14 lbs/521.6 grams). Karnataka, Mysore, India.

Trilobite fossil. Devonian-age Columbus Limestone. Delaware County, Ohio, USA. (collected by me on a field trip)

Alexandrite (chrysoberyl). 180 carats (36 grams). Izmrundye Kopi Mine in Malyshevo, Urals, Russia.

Aquamarine (beryl). 8,420 carats (3.71 lbs/1,684 grams) Sullins-Wisman Mine. Appalachian Mountains, North Carolina, USA

I have other impressive specimens, but they are too numerous to mention.

carbink
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

16 May 2015, 11:06 am

i collect minerals! i have a pretty good sized collection considering the fact that i can't buy minerals bc i'm broke, but sadly, almost none are catalogued :(

i started it when i was younger and didn't know how to catalog them and then some others were given to me that weren't catalogued either.

i'm hoping that i can go to graves mountain in october with the gms so i can collect more! hopefully, i'll have money and rockhounding supplies by then (rn i do everything without tools....)

SariaFan931
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

16 May 2015, 11:09 am

Uggh! The photos aren't showing! Does anyone here know how to post photos onto forums, and get to show up? I'm new here...

carbink