Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Pica_hudsonia
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

17 Sep 2015, 1:10 am

Ok, so I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right subforum. But here goes.

Last summer I was diagnosed with a Nonverbal Learning Disorder. Don't know if it matters, but verbal IQ 130 and performance IQ of 107. Can't remember on which test. New diagnosis. Still learning how it affects me, if that makes sense. I mean, it fits - but I am still figuring out which of my issues and quirks can be attributed to it, and which can be just attributed to my personality.

Anyway, yeah. So I can get by in the world. I have a part-time job, and have had a full time job before. I have a degree, and I have my own apartment.

But - I need a car. I want to work in my field, Environmental Sciences, and all the entry-level positions are either out in the boonies or in small towns.

I'm 28, I have my license. But I haven't driven in 10 years, and I only "drove" for about 3 weeks before passing the driving test (took it 3 times, passed the 3rd time).

What kind of car should I be looking for? I need to take lessons again to feel comfortable behind the wheel, should I concentrate on manual or automatic? What pitfalls should I look out for while being a new, non-neurotypical driver?

I have a very low distraction threshold. I get lost pretty damn easily. I would say I have an OK spatial awareness, but all the bruises I get from bumping into things would probably discredit that.

Driving terrifies me. I've been hit twice as a pedestrian, not to mention everything else. But in my city, and in my field, it's a necessity. Any advice? Sorry for rambling.

izzeme
Veteran
Veteran

17 Sep 2015, 7:42 am

an automatic might be the better choice; it takes away a few things to keep track of, allowing more attention to your surroundings.