Page 1 of 3 [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

dcj123
Veteran
Veteran

06 Nov 2015, 6:13 pm

Hello,

I thought after being inspired by this thread I would make a official programming thread where we can post code, ask questions and talk about how horrible at coding we are. Anyway, here is some of my code and pics of the output, please don't attack me too hard, I know my logic is screwed up in my java calculator and that I am not a good coder. However, I thought I'd share some of my horrible code and maybe learn something.

Keep it to corrective criticism please, I know I am that bad, so you don't have to tell me. Anyway kicking this list off,

Java

jclac

Source Code
jcalc.java
jcalcframe.java

Screenshot

Temperature Conversion

Source Code
gui_temperatures.java
TemperaturesFrame.java

Screenshot

I have some C programs I'll post later, I seem to have misplaced the Raspberry Pi computer that has that code on it.

Earthling
Veteran
Veteran

06 Nov 2015, 8:13 pm

I'm happy to see you do
this

Code:
blah()
{
     blah blah
}

instead of this
Code:
blah() {
     blah blah
}

:thumleft:
Much easier too read IMO.

Earthling
Veteran
Veteran

06 Nov 2015, 8:42 pm

Hmm according to formulas... Let's convert 10 Celsius to Fahrenheit.
10 * 5/9 + 32 = 37.5555555 --> 37 Fahrenheit.
OK, now back.
(37 - 32) * 5/7 = 3.5fdsfdsa --> 3 Celsius.

???

dcj123
Veteran
Veteran

07 Nov 2015, 4:16 am

Earthling wrote:
Hmm according to formulas... Let's convert 10 Celsius to Fahrenheit.
10 * 5/9 + 32 = 37.5555555 --> 37 Fahrenheit.
OK, now back.
(37 - 32) * 5/7 = 3.5fdsfdsa --> 3 Celsius.

???

Actually 10 Celsius is 50 Fahrenheit, hang on, let me test the code. I think the code is ok. Something is not adding up on the formula listed which is just a string, the formula used in the code has nothing to do with formula displayed.

Oddly enough, Google shows that formula, somethings not right. One mistake you made is its 5/9 not 5/7 but that doesn't change the fact its not working 8O