At what age do people start defining you by your job?

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

DevilKisses
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2015, 2:41 pm

I'm 19 and I don't have a job right now. I know that at some point people are going to start defining me by my job or lack of job. I'm already noticing that most people my age have a job. At the moment my excuse for having no job is upgrading my high school grades. If I went to university I would mention university instead. I sometimes also say I'm an artist. When will my excuses stop working and when will people start thinking it's weird I don't have a job? I think at this point it's weird to not have a job, but it's still acceptable to work minimum wage.

Earthling
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2015, 2:55 pm

People judge when you're doing nothing.

Sweetleaf
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2015, 2:57 pm

The concept is alien to me...a job is something someone does, not who they are.

But yeah I suppose around the age of 18, people tend to assume you'll be going to college, going to a technical or certificate program, or at least are working a part time job. Around 25 I think people start assuming you have some form of steady employment or are working towards a career.

Of course with the way things are going you're lucky if by 30 you have a crappy paying job that certainly doesn't pay enough for entirely independent living and aren't close to being fired and/or laid off. You're really lucky if this occurs before age 30.

And anyone who can actually afford to rent an apartment or home without room-mates is beyond lucky, hell your lucky if you can afford a place with room-mates rather than still living with parents.

Ashariel
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2015, 3:04 pm

I think until around 25, it's generally considered acceptable to be in school, or looking for work, but not yet fully independent. After that, it gets a bit awkward when people inevitably ask "where do you work", if you don't have an acceptable answer to that question.