Feeling this way because a lack of confidence?

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

dobyfm
Toucan
Toucan

05 Dec 2015, 12:06 pm

I like an NT guy in one of my college classes. He has good social skills, is very likable and everyone in my major is his friend. I am very shy around him. He is so nice to me and always is willing to help me with assignments. Just this week me and him finally had a conversation about topics that do not concern academics. We actually have a lot in common. I don't know if he likes me or not, but as I went home that day I began to ask myself, "Why would someone like him like me or want to be with me?" I even started crying a little bit. The feeling of self doubt is still here and I am debating avoiding him. :(

I know this type of thinking stems from a lack of confidence. I've been struggling with low self esteem for years and even have been going to therapy sessions. Does anyone feel this way or has felt this way? Share your stories.

androbot01
Veteran
Veteran

05 Dec 2015, 12:14 pm

You are engaging in negative self talk. Whenever your mind thinks things like "why would someone like him like me or want to be with me," challenge the thought. You really have no evidence either way. Forget trying to define things - just enjoy the moments life offers.

mewichigo
Butterfly
Butterfly

05 Dec 2015, 12:56 pm

from my personal experience I have developed low self esteem just from being rejected so much back in high school as well as after I graduated which became a problem when I did find someone I like, as a pretended to friendzone him just so he wouldn't treat me like so many other people did. One day I discovered he like me too and I had no reason to worry. I guess what I am saying is that you can put yourself on the line as you don't know how he feels until he tells you himself.

The Grand Inquisitor
Veteran
Veteran

05 Dec 2015, 1:48 pm