Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Eggs22
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

05 Jan 2016, 1:56 am

Hi, I am new to wrongplanet so I’m sorry if this is the wrong place for this to be posted.

I think I might be on the spectrum and am trying to figure out what to do next. It’s always been apparent I was a little different but I’ve never known exactly why or cared too much to find out. I finally have decided to find out if there is a reason for some of my behaviors or not. I saw a post someone wrote on Asperger’s on a blogging website and I identified with so much of it so I started researching it. I eventually found some quizzes and so far I’ve taken 4 online quizzes which all indicated “likely on the spectrum.” Which I guess is a start. I guess I just want some opinions on whether or not I might be right. I can’t decide if I should pursue a diagnosis nor do I know how to go about it really. I’m really open to hearing others thoughts and think it would be helpful for me a little bit. Sorry if this seems all over the place, it was more difficult than I thought to articulate all of this.

I’m 21 years old girl and I’m a college student.

Socially:
I don’t like small talk nor am I good at it, I struggle in situations where the context in not clear, can’t talk on the phone well, often say inappropriate things on accident, told I have a ‘resting b***h face’, group conversations are difficult-never know what to say, when to say it, hate making eye contact, too blunt, not empathetic ‘enough’
I really struggle with reading others body language and others have told me mine is difficult to read, this has become especially apparent as I’ve started dating or ‘talking’ to people.

I don’t think I have any routines/rituals but I’m sure my family and friends would disagree, I just like to do things a specific way and prefer not to deviate from it.