Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

rswartzjr
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

25 May 2016, 11:10 am

I have always wondered if my Crohn's Disease is in fact Autistic Enterocolitis? What are your thoughts? Is it possible to have a spectrum diagnosis and also have crohn's? Sometimes I'm not sur :roll: e.

PeachCastella
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

25 May 2016, 11:30 am

im no expert on chron's but i dunno 'leaky gut syndrome' is a work of science fiction by bad scientists wishing to 'cure' us of autism

leaky gut dosen't exist, first of all. it is fake and eating healthy dosen't make person less autistic, but a happer healthier version of her autistic self as it can relive diarhea and vomiting and stuff

i am very angainst the idea of 'curing' autism, but i think you cold have chron and autism diagnosis, yeah. its okay to be autistic, just means different not bad :heart:

underwater
Veteran
Veteran

25 May 2016, 1:02 pm

Autistic people are more likely to have autoimmune diseases than your average person. If you have one autoimmune disease it increases the chance of having another.

There are a lot of gastrointestinal troubles among people on this forum, but there is no single type - there's celiac, IBS, Chrohns, various allergies and intolerances, reflux, etc.. Some people feel better on a gluten- and caseine free diet.

I don't know how they diagnose Crohn's, but that is a pretty serious illness, and you need to take good care of yourself and listen to your doctors.

¤ edited for spelling error. grmf.¤

ASPartOfMe
Veteran
Veteran

09 Jan 2018, 1:37 am

Large study ties gut issues in autism to inflammation

Quote:
Children with autism are at an increased risk for inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), according to a large survey of electronic medical records1.

IBD includes the painful conditions Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, and is associated with an overactive immune system.