People with Autism Solve the World's Problems?

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

PrivatePyle99
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

07 Jun 2016, 1:29 pm

So I had an idea and I'm curious to know what others think. Us Aspies have obsessions, right? And there are things we tend to be better at than NTs are. I just found out I have Asperger's about 5 weeks ago, what I'm wondering is can you control those obsessions? I've never really been able to but I didn't know I had this, I'm thinking maybe now that I know, I could. What if a bunch of Autistic people pointed those obsessions and gifts at some of the world's problems?

I'm a software engineer and I've done web design. What I'm thinking is a website structured like a forum but structured around particular topics / problems. Within each topic people could post their research, chat with others who are interested in the same problem, and just maybe solve something that NT's haven't been able to solve. I could build this quite easily in a couple weeks, would it be worth my time? Would anyone else be interested in participating? I'd want the management of such a site to be much more democratic than it just being my site, although I could pay for it.

Thanks for any thoughts or advice.

Your neurodiverse (Aspie) score: 140 of 200
Your neurotypical (non-autistic) score: 59 of 200
You are very likely neurodiverse (Aspie)

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

07 Jun 2016, 1:52 pm

Why don't you just start up such a Site?

By the way: I am of the belief that NT's need autistic people, and autistic people need NT's in order to solve the world's problems.

PrivatePyle99

07 Jun 2016, 1:54 pm

kraftiekortie wrote:
Why don't you just start up such a Site?

By the way: I am of the belief that NT's need autistic people, and autistic people need NT's in order to solve the world's problems.