Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

charliee
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

22 Sep 2016, 1:09 am

Anyone have tips on finding a job with no references?

After looking for a very long time now, I still haven't been able to find a job of any sort. I have a college degree (in Psychology of all things) and no experience. I've applied to all sorts of jobs, full time, part time, volunteer work, etc. and always get tripped up when the application asks for references. Social anxiety is a huge issue of mine and although my professors were nice, I was never close with any of them to be able to ask for a reference. And I can't ask anyone else because I don't know anyone else. This is quite demoralizing as I'm 24, have no friends, no job, no life, and depend on my parents to support me. I am frustrated to no end, and it shows because I am writing this at 2 in the morning and have not been on any social media platform of any kind in almost a decade.

If anyone has advice for me or is as frustrated as I am, please let me know. It would be much appreciated. Thanks.

LookWhoItIs
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

22 Sep 2016, 10:50 pm

I feel you. I was going to suggest you do some volunteer work and meet someone who can be a reference there, but I didn't know you needed references just to get a volunteer job!

Do your parents have any long-term friends/neighbors who know you by extension? I have used friends/co-workers of my mom as references in the past even when they didn't know me THAT well. Have you thought about contacting your school's career services about your predicament?

Good luck.

Mr_Miner
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

29 Sep 2016, 4:38 pm