Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Roo95
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

27 Jul 2017, 2:23 pm

Hello, I know problems making and maintaining eye contact are common issues for people on the spectrum and I was wondering how other aspies find it and explain my issue with it. I have always struggled with eye contact all my life, I worked as a cashier once were I forced myself to make brief eye contact with customers witch is still extremely uncomfortable but bareable as long as I didn't look right into them as it fills me with anxiety, makes me tense and is almost painful. But the strangest thing is that I can't make any eye contact at all with close friends and family, i can't bare the overwhelming feeling, but I can make eye contact with strangers but only for a second, I thought it should be the other way a around. Does anyone know possibly why? Is it sensory related?

StampySquiddyFan
Veteran
Veteran

27 Jul 2017, 2:30 pm

It seems sensory related to me. Until I read about autism, I had always looked at people's mouths. I thought people only made eye contact during business deals. Maybe you view eye contact as something intimate, almost like you're "staring into the person's soul(how some people with an ASD describe eye contact)?" Maybe you don't want to feel that way about close friends and family. I don't know, that's just my guess.

Hi! I'm Stampy (not the actual YouTuber, just a fan!) and I have been diagnosed professionally with ASD and OCD and likely have TS. If you have any questions or just want to talk, please feel free to PM me!

Current Interests: Stampy Cat, AGT, and Medicine

PhosphorusDecree
Veteran
Veteran

27 Jul 2017, 3:08 pm