What job / career do you do for a living?

Page 1 of 3 [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Roo95
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

13 Aug 2018, 5:29 pm

Hello. I would like to ask everyone on here what job/career/profession you do for a living, to pay the bills, rent and so on, just out of curiosity and what you do and don't like about your job. I'll start.

I currently work as a professional vehicle valeter and detailer for a small car dealership here in the UK. Its a pretty easy job and a good job for an aspie as it requires little to no customer interaction and a very keen eye for detail. I work as part of a small team, keeping all the brand new cars clean and shiny. What I love most is taking old trade in cars, cleaning them, correcting and treating the paintwork and alloys, making them look brand new ready to be put up for sale on the forecourt as well as preparing sold cars ready to go out to the customer.

I have been doing this job for 4 years now but prior to this, my special interest was cooking. I managed to get myself a job as a trainee chef in a restaurant but ended up being fired after a year after being constantly taken advantage of and as I struggled to cope with the fast paced environment.

AnonymousAnonymous
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2018, 7:29 pm

I am unemployed, but am getting help looking for work from my state's VR Services.

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2018, 7:48 pm

<-- Electrical Engineer / Consultant / Gig Musician.

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

MagicMeerkat
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2018, 8:09 pm

I'm currently on disability but I'm going to veterinary tech school once I get my driver's license and a car. If that works out, maybe go to actual DVM school in the future.

QuantumChemist
Veteran
Veteran

13 Aug 2018, 9:00 pm