Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

OrdinaryCitizen
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

12 Oct 2018, 3:18 am

Cannot focus on more than one thing in a day, ie i can only do one type of work and i do it for days, i am not good at switching tasks around.

Other people are able to do one task for few hours then switch to another task, then go outside take a walk for few hours go back to first task etc.

I struggle to find motivation to do anything so i am afraid if i switch to another task i will never go back to the first task i were doing.

Don't even want to go take a shower when i am consumed by something i am doing thinking its more important and needs to be carried trough.

Hate day planners and organizers as well.

Is this normal for an Aspie or i am special in this regard?

Benjamin the Donkey
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2018, 3:49 am

It all sounds pretty similar to me. I can do maybe two projects in a day, but no multitasking--one earlier and one later.

But yes, if I'm really focused on something, it's really hard to stop and do something else, even taking a shower or eating.

Piobaire
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2018, 5:47 am

I only do one thing at a time. I generally don't even listen to music while I'm working.

IstominFan
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2018, 8:52 am

Multitasking is really a terrible way to work. Nobody is good at it and it lowers the attention span to zero.

ASPartOfMe
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2018, 12:07 pm

This is a common problem for Autistic people. It is thought sensory overload and poor Executive Functioning are the reasons.

It is Autism Acceptance Month

“My autism is not a superpower. It also isn’t some kind of god-forsaken, endless fountain of suffering inflicted on my family. It’s just part of who I am as a person”. - Sara Luterman

Arevelion
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

12 Oct 2018, 1:58 pm

Likewise I suck at multitasking.

Magna
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2018, 2:02 pm