Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

The Grand Inquisitor
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2018, 5:00 am

I've been working full-time for 6 months now, and I'm starting to look towards what moving out would entail. I'm not planning to move out yet as I wouldn't have much left over from my work pay when bills are paid. At the moment moving out would mean I would lose a huge chunk of my disposable income, as I earn $650 a week and at the very cheapest I could rent on my own for about $200. I've also got a couple of other things I'm considering spending money on such as braces to straighten my teeth and potentially getting my glasses tinted so the sun doesn't get in the way of my view when riding my bike to work.

Even so, I want to start entertaining the idea and working out the logistics for moving out so I am as ready as possible when the time comes and I don't leave it go by the wayside and wake up one day when I'm 30 only to realise that I'm still living with my mother after all that time.

I guess I just want to know what others' experiences have been with moving out and what important items or costs are involved that may be easily forgotten or overlooked. Also, life hacks to save money while out of home will be most welcome. Basically any advice or input with regard to the subject of moving out of home would be appreciated.

Cheers.

jimmy m
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2018, 1:06 pm

If you move into a rental property (apartment/house) normally an initial deposit is required in addition to the rent. Sometimes that take the shape of a security deposit. It is money that is refundable back to you, when you move from the rental provided there is no damage to the structure.

Generally when you move into a rental you will sign a contract. Generally this contract terms are set on a year by year basis. You will commit to living there and paying rent for that time period (year). On the reciprocal side your landlord will not raise your rents during the term of the contract.