Introduction, sharing some of my experiences

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

vividgroovy
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

20 Dec 2018, 7:28 am

I'm 37 years old. I haven't been diagnosed with Asperger's, but based on what I've read, I think I may fall within the spectrum. “Wrong Planet” certainly describes how I feel much of the time. I'm also fairly certain I have OCD. I was just reading some other people's experiences online, and I thought it might be helpful to share some of mine.

I'm obsessed with:

- Disneyland. So much so, that I've had recurring dreams about trying to get there since I was a child.
- Disney animated films.
- Anthropomorphic animal (furry) artwork. Particularly muscular superheroes and villains. Characters who are intimidating, physical, aggressive – everything I'm not. I'm an artist, and this is mostly what I draw.
- Musical theater.
- Comedy review videos on YouTube. I listen to these while I do my artwork, as it helps to have a distraction.

My artistic obsession is extremely difficult for other people to understand. To most people around here, art is, at most, a hobby. My parents are more understanding than most people about this.

On my days off from my job, I feel overwhelming pressure to work on my artwork. Having to do anything else on these days seems like a threat to that.

One thing I always require is a glass of water or soda nearby while I work. Sometimes, this drink will remain untouched for hours, something my stepfather loves to mock. However, if I have nothing to drink, I'll become unbearably thirsty. I'll think, “I should get up and get a drink.” Then, I'll see something in my drawing that I want to change, and I'll think “right after I do this.” These thoughts can continue on a loop for lengthy periods of time, with me neither able to fully concentrate on what I'm doing, nor pull myself away.