Does recurring coldsores mean I have an STD?

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

29 Dec 2018, 5:48 pm

I've been getting coldsores since the age of 14, and everywhere I read about coldsores it says that they are caused by STDs (sexually transmitted diseases). But I never had any sexual interaction until I was 22, and I'd never kissed anybody with coldsores, and as far as I know my parents don't have STDs.

But I've been getting coldsores on and off for years, and I've been treating them and sometimes they go away for a few months to a year and other times they come back and stay for months, and not just in cold weather. Sometimes they occur on one side of the mouth, other times both sides, but usually just one side.

I'm not always sure if they are coldsores, or just skin tears, because I kiss my boyfriend a lot and he never catches them. But if they are skin tears then surely they would occur on both sides of the mouth every time. But whatever they are I find them embarrassing, as I worry people think I have herpes or STDs. :oops:

Magna
Veteran
Veteran

29 Dec 2018, 9:28 pm

Babies can get herpes simplex (aka cold sores, fever blisters, lip cookies, raspberries) from getting kissed by someone who is infected. You could get it by sharing a toothbrush, drinking from the same glass, pop can, sharing lip balm/lipstick, same cigarette, etc. In none of those instances was the presently incurable disease "sexually" transmitted.