The debate is over: The oceans are in hot, hot water

Page 1 of 7 [ 97 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

goldfish21
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jan 2019, 1:04 am

https://www.salon.com/2019/01/20/the-de ... r_partner/

Seems pretty compelling. Can any of you debunk this as fake news? I am not a climate scientist, chemist, or physicist. I don’t know if even the simple math and statements they made are accurate or not.

But assuming it’s legit, this should be pretty alarming stuff.

RichardJ
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jan 2019, 1:21 am

This article gives a lot of numbers, stuff that sounds impressive but actually means very little. It talks about how hot the oceans are getting warmer and instead of giving something useful to show that like a graph or trend line plotting out ocean temperatures over time, it gives the data in a way that is impossible to interpret and useless. Joules added compared to joules used by humanity means absolutely nothing.

It's the old saying, "If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with BS"

LoveNotHate
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jan 2019, 1:48 am

We know humans are ruining the environment, but what can we do?

Look at the grief they give Trump for trying to keep people out.

goldfish21
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jan 2019, 2:20 am

RichardJ wrote:
This article gives a lot of numbers, stuff that sounds impressive but actually means very little. It talks about how hot the oceans are getting warmer and instead of giving something useful to show that like a graph or trend line plotting out ocean temperatures over time, it gives the data in a way that is impossible to interpret and useless. Joules added compared to joules used by humanity means absolutely nothing.

It's the old saying, "If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with BS"

Is it BS, though?