Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Lockheart
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

22 Jul 2019, 6:34 am

Hi,

I have an Asperger's diagnosis. I am doing a PhD in an ecological field in Australia and finding it a huge struggle.

I've previously done well at university and I love my topic, so it's not a problem with academic ability or the subject. I am struggling more with:

1) The office environment where I'm expected to work. It's open-plan and too cold, the fluorescent lights are too bright and it's too social. I'm uncomfortable physically and psychologically so I can't concentrate on anything.
2) My supervisor's expectations of my attendance. Despite my discomfort, he wants me in the office rather than working at home. I am miserable because I know what I need to do to get my work done and keep myself mentally healthy - that is, work at home whenever possible - but feel like I'm disappointing him when I do work from home.
3) My supervisor's changing expectations. His expectations seem to shift over time, which is dizzyingly confusing.
4) The social nature of doing research. As a learner at the beginning of my project, I have to ask for help all the time. There is also a general expectation that you will network with other PhD students and academics.
5) The bureaucracy. There is so much paperwork and I struggle with filling it out.
6) There seems to be an avalanche of information and things to do. I can't deal with it. It's like I have a buffer in my head and I can't process everything fast enough.
7) Difficulties in focusing. I don't multitask well and all the different things I am juggling make it impossible to focus on anything.
8 ) The lack of structure. I know I need to impose my own structure, however I can't seem to get this to happen.