Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

civil4life
Butterfly
Butterfly

23 Aug 2019, 2:47 pm

Hello All:

I figured I would introduce myself. I am 35 year old female. I own (mortgage) my home and live alone with 2 cats Oscar (9) and Dakota (6). I have a job in the public sector as an engineer project manager for transportation projects. I have an undergrad and grad degree in civil engineering.

I lead a really boring life and really do not leave my home unless I have too. In the past, I was quite the opposite and had things to do all the time. No meltdown or anything, but finally realized that this was me trying to fit into the extroverted world.

In the spring I was talking with my therapist about socializing. Overall, I crave solitude, but there are those rare times that I wish I had a close friend to confide in. I have no desire to get married or have kids. I struggle with whether these choices are because I do not want to make the effort to try and fit in or if that is truly what I desire. In the middle of the conversation, she randomly asked if I had ever been tested for Autism. I was never tested. A few years back I researched it a bit, but dismissed it in the end.

After that conversation, I looked into it again. It seemed like it was a possibility and the fact that a mental health professional brought it up kind of made it a bit more real. I have a friend that teaches special ed. I discussed it with her and she thought it was a good idea to get tested.
Then I started the task of finding a psychologist that would test adults and was covered by my insurance. After printing out a list of 500 psychologist and googling most of them I was able to find what I needed. Over the past few months I have gone through the gauntlet of testing. This past Monday I met with the psychologist to go over the results. He believes I am on the Autism Spectrum. I have not received his report yet. I hope to have it in the next week.