Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

GOD_2689
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

10 Oct 2019, 6:36 pm

Evening all, I am new to Wrong Planet so Hi.

I have a work place saga and I am not entirely sure what to think or do for the best maybe some of you can help. I work in IT, Computers and related technologies are my life, it has been said I would marry my technology if I could :D

I have recently started working for a company and this is the first time I have worked with a team and had a direct manager, previously I had worked alone.

I am finding it very difficult to get on with management for one reason or another, for the most part the issue stems from me getting frustrated, and then tending to raise my voice, which has already seen me warned that it will become a disciplinary matter if it continues.

The issue here is that I do not actually realise that I have raised my voice until it has already happened, my attempt to explain this has fell on deaf ears.

I have always felt that this is part of my Autism as it has been an issue for as long as I have been alive, my boss remains determined it is something I can and must change but I am not sure I can even though I want to,

Advice most welcome ladies and gentlemen.

harry12345
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

11 Oct 2019, 2:43 am

It could be they are wording their concerns in a vague manner and it is not that you are raising your voice per se, but that you are answering them back.

Is it the case that they are asking you to do something and you are saying that you "can't do it because of....."

GOD_2689
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

11 Oct 2019, 3:00 am

I think it is a combination of actually raising ones voice, and taking a defensive line/attitude.

I have avoided blaming my autism as much as practicably possible,

"Is it the case that they are asking you to do something and you are saying that you "can't do it because of....."