When did you first notice you were different from NTs?

Page 1 of 2 [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

GoldenMom
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

25 Oct 2019, 6:26 am

I started noticing when I was 3 or 4. But it really kicked in in 1st grade. I’ve been swimming since I was a baby, I remember walking/running on my toes, I lined up toys. But the social awkwardness really kicked in lower school.

How about you?

Diagnosed with ASD Level 1 on 10/28/19 (Better late than never)

Mom to 9 y/o boy diagnosed with ASD and ADHD on 11/15/19

Kitty4670
Veteran
Veteran

25 Oct 2019, 2:59 pm

I was in elementary school, I was around 8, I started school late, cuz of my Psoriasis. I graduated high school when I was 19, that was in June, I was almost 20 in 1990, boy that is old. Anyway, back then I didn’t know I had Aspergers, that was the 70s. I knew I had Cerebral Pasly & Psoriasis, my classmates in elementary school were handicap too, some of them were in wheelchairs. Although they were handicap too, I didn’t talk to them very much, I didn’t know how to talk very good so I kept my mouth shut, at playtime, I played by myself most of the time, I love the swings, I was always there. I felt very bad, I thought it was my fault that I wasn’t talking & making friends, I thought something was very wrong with me. I was more comfortable at home playing with my toys & being with my mom.

GoldenMom
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

25 Oct 2019, 3:54 pm

Excuse my phone’s dyslexia! It changed stimming to swimming on my OP! I just now saw it and somehow it’s not letting me edit the post. Anyway... :D

Kitty, something at that school age just makes the difference seem bigger? Social requirements are more demanding or expected to be more complex?

dragonsanddemons
Veteran
Veteran

25 Oct 2019, 4:08 pm

I don't recall any specific moment or anything. I can't remember ever not knowing I was different.