Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Kristofs
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

15 May 2020, 9:24 am

I'm 38y old Aspie, have a job and two kids (3y neurotypical, 6y Aspie). Typically days are tiring due to work, but the really difficult part is evenings. When I come home, the kids run around screaming and fighting all the time, so I just get some food and drag time until the kids go to sleep at around 9pm. Typically by then I'm already exhausted due to sensory overload, so after putting them in bed just pour myself a glass of whiskey and spend the rest of evening randomly surfing web, with few more drinks during that. I have been doing this self-medication for last 10 years.
The whiskey helps in the evenings, I can really feel my brain releasing tension sip by sip, to go from like a tense muscle to a peaceful sea. But in the mornings I feel not well slept and hangover :( I need to find an alternative evening decompression method.
Please tell how do YOU decompress during evenings?

martianprincess
Veteran
Veteran

15 May 2020, 4:38 pm

I'm a single parent of three kids between the ages of 2 and 7 (the oldest also has autism, like me). I have them half the time.
I put them to bed at 8:00 PM. On weekends I might let the older two stay up until 9:00 for our Friday movie night, but most of the time they are in their rooms by 8:00 after our routine (pajamas, toothbrush, story).
After they are in bed, I might do homework/study (depending on if I am taking a class - which I took a break from this last spring semester, but will be resuming over the summer). If I'm not doing work, I watch a TV show, play a video game, or read a book. Sometimes I drink wine or beer, but I try to limit my intake to no more than three times a week.

I like wild orchids and neighbors with wide orbits

Kristofs
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

16 May 2020, 7:41 am

martianprincess wrote:
I'm a single parent of three kids between the ages of 2 and 7 (the oldest also has autism, like me). I have them half the time.