I got rejected from a job for not quitting my other job

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

MSBKyle
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

12 Dec 2020, 6:57 pm

I currently work part-time at a grocery store. I've been working at this same grocery store for 9 years. I work there Monday through Friday from 5pm to 10pm. I make about $9 an hour. I have been trying to get a second job working weekday mornings or on the weekends. I applied at another store for a part-time position that pays $10.40 an hour. They called me after the interview and hired me. I went for orientation at this new job and they asked me if I had already quit my current job or put in my two week notice. I said that I planned to work at both places for a little while. They told me that in order to start working for them, I would have to put in my two week notice at my other job. They said that it would be a "conflict of interest" if I worked at both places. There is another person who works where I work and recently got a job at this store. He works at both places. I told this to the hiring manager and he said that this person is violating their rules. He asked me who it is and I didn't want to say because I didn't want to get him in trouble. It sounded like the manager knew who I was talking about. I hope I didn't get my co-worker in trouble. It's like you are not allowed to have 2 jobs. No one can live off of working one part-time job. Sometimes you have to work 2 or 3 part-time jobs in order to pay the bills. Every part-time job that I have applied for assumed that I was planning to leave my current part-time job in order to work for them. I have a steady schedule with my current part-time job so I wouldn't mind working another part-time job earlier in the day.

kokopelli
Veteran
Veteran

12 Dec 2020, 7:21 pm

It makes sense that for many higher level jobs, there could be a very real conflict of interest if one is also working for a competitor.