Entire Folder Missing - External Drive (Windows 10) Heeelp!

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

WallflowerAsparagus
Veteran
Veteran

05 Mar 2021, 12:52 am

Oh, my. Anxiety.

Hello...

I'm wondering if anyone can help me as I cannot find anything online to assist.
I noticed a folder full of .NEF files, .PSD files and a few .PNG files had gone missing this week.
I'm a photographer and these images cannot be reshot, the locations either no longer exist or are in the process of being destroyed. I shot these in August last year. I am running Windows 10.

- I do not remember deleting this folder (It's a HUGE folder) off my external hard drive. It is not on my backup external hard drive either, yet folders from later dates are intact on both.

- I have used Disk Drill to attempt to recover it if it has been deleted - It did not show a single image from that folder or that day or any .PSD folders I created from the .NEF images over the upcoming months.

- I used RescuePRO Deluxe on all my SD cards, it even recovered images from half a decade ago... but nothing from that day in August 2020.

- I have done an extensive search in Windows on all my drives for keywords of folders and names of images from that day which came up with nothing.

- I scanned the drives with anti-virus software, unlikely that one folder would be affected, but I persisted...and came up with nothing.

I'm speculating if they had been deleted or if they are unable to be seen.

It is almost as if the images never existed! :?

I spent all day taking thousands of images that day, I was deeply hyper focused within my creative zone that day and shot some images that I was very proud of. I had been working on them since December or January. I was very unwell from October - December and I couldn't move around much, but edited a lot of these images in that time... All that work gone. :(

I am very sad about this and it's causing me a great deal of anxiety.