Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

dorkseid
Veteran
Veteran

13 Oct 2021, 8:53 pm

My ex-fiancé abused me psychologically for a little over 2 years before ending the relationship. At the time, there were many signs that something wasn't right. Stories weren't adding up. She constantly threatened to leave me to get her way on everything. After a while I was afraid to make any decisions on my own, like going places or buying things, because I was afraid of how she would react. I slowly stopped spending time with other people until I only was ever around her and her close friends, and I didn't even notice she was the cause. All the signs were there, but I did not know how to recognize them. It was enough to make me feel confused and uncomfortable, and to remember it all in hindsight; but at the time I did not know what the signs meant. Or perhaps I didn't want to. Perhaps I was too scared of ending up alone again.

After the relationship ended, I started learning about narcissists and how they behave in relationships. I learned what gaslighting is. I learned about love bombing. I realized that she had isolated me socially to cut me off from other people. I remember how she would tell me reasons why I should stop spending time with this or that person. I remember her telling me that other women say I'm ugly and gross. She always told me that people in her family hate me, but it not register at the time that I had never actually seen any signs of that. She told me some story about her cousin saying she knew me and I was a druggie. She called the police and did a background check on me. And at the time I never thought about the possibility that she was acting out of malice. I was exploited, manipulated, and abused.

For more information about relationships with narcissists and how they abuse their partners, see the following playlist:

https://www.youtube.com/c/SurvivingNarcissism/videos