You know what really sucks?

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Schwiitzer
Butterfly
Butterfly

25 May 2022, 5:40 pm

Im just starting to learn about my ASD at age 43. I have an appointment for an assessment in one month. So many of the copping strategies that worked in the past are less effective or not at all. the last few days have been VERY hard. I have been stuck in an uncomfortable situation every day for at least 8 hours. I think I may be in some sort of multi day melt down. Im nearly at the end of my rope. My thoughts of my Retirement Plan(i.e. suicide) are back strong. I only have my therapist to talk to and I only do that every 2 weeks and she barely understands ASD and has almost no experience with adult ASD(I've been working with her for 2 years and I just discovered ASD 2 months ago). My appointments with the therapist have been over skype since covid started and I dont have a private place to make those calls. My wife has more than once listened in to my entire session through the door to make sure Im not badmouthing her to my therapist. My spouse is part of my problem and because of relationship trauma I cant talk to her at all. I never realized how much trouble I had in expressing my feeling to others in the past. Now that I know about ASD and how my masking works I can see that I never really opened up to people before. I always put on my mask. I even find it very hard not to mask in my therapy sessions.