Economist here, I want to rant about why I don't tell people

Page 1 of 4 [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

stratozyck
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

12 Oct 2022, 12:53 pm

I got a PhD and all, I can post a picture if you'd like but I'd have to do it in such a way that I am still anon. After my personal rant is a longer itemized rant about common economic fallacies I hear.

Social science is one of the most difficult things to be an expert in because everyone on the planet has some sort of internal model about how society works. People only learn things via personal experience so some expert coming along saying "ahhhctually I read in some book that blah blah" always backfires.

The result is you get this "the people that know aren't talking, and the people that are talking, don't know" effect with all things social science, and especially economics because that is something everyone thinks their opinion is just as good as an experts'. Worse, if you disagree they think you have a political agenda.

That last part is mind boggling stupid to me because one of the foundations of economics is that economists do not assign value to what people want. So, by assuming they think I am telling them to value something, i.e. push an agenda, they are highlighting how far left on the DK curve they are. It's a giant "do not talk to this person, they are a proud dumbass" flag for me.

There are some things as an economist that are not pushing an agenda. Tax cuts do not decrease the budget deficit. That is just nonsense and the situations where it "theoretically could occur" are so extreme that we are far from it. Basically, we'd have to have 90% or so average tax rates, not marginal.