Out of my mind, at the click of a pen

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Hawkmoth
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

28 Oct 2022, 7:31 pm

I am facing a nightmare of a situation right now. My head still hurts from Thursday night and I cannot stop thinking about it.

Hello! I'm new here, looking for help, and will now fill you in on the context of the situation. I am an aspiring pilot! I am currently attending ground school for my private pilot's license. I'm two thirds of the way in, made good grades on the two section tests, but have encountered a problem thus far. I'm in a small class of a small mom and pop flight academy, but the class has since grown. Furthermore, whereas none of my classmates started exhibiting a certain behavior in the early days, now about everyone is doing it and I am losing my f*****g mind.

I have some hypersensitivities. Sound, sight, touch. I can tolerate my sights and touches rather well. Those don't bother so bad, but my misophonia is by far, nearing the upmost catastrophic levels of kill me. It gives me headaches, makes me paranoid, and instills in me these barely contain roiling shakes of absolute rage. I can't stop thinking about it, now, long after the torment has ended. I can't stop thinking about how I would like to walk up to every single one of my classmates and snap their instrument of torture in half. How I would like to just scream at the top of my lungs. How I would like to do just about any and everything to make them STOP. JUST STOP. GOD, PLEASE STOP!

And what's this trigger sound which turns me into an animal? Perhaps the absolute worst trigger sound to have in an academic setting: The click of a pen.