Is Being A Single Financially Independent Aspie Possible?

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Jutty1224
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

02 May 2023, 8:55 am

I'm not and I've wondered if it's possible to be. At no point in my life have I been able to fully support myself on my own income without help from family. I have lived on my own now for 22 years. I graduated from college 25 years ago. I work full time, and have been with my current employer for almost 10 years now. I'm single and live alone. I own my own home, a condo that is part of a HOA, that I purchased using money I inherited from my grandmother after she passed. I do have credit card debt. I am satisfied with my current job, but I don't get paid enough. My mother and sister are encouraging me that I should look for another job that pays better. However, what goes through my mind is would I be comfortable doing something else? Another thought is whether as aspies, if others see us as incapable and therefore don't pay us as much?

IsabellaLinton
Veteran
Veteran

02 May 2023, 9:35 am

I've owned my own house as a single parent for over 25 years.
I still have a mortgage but it's cheaper overall than rent.
I worked full-time for almost 25 years, then went to LTD, then finally retirement age.
I'm in debt but I'm not dependent on anyone and refuse to be.

Recidivist
Veteran
Veteran

02 May 2023, 9:42 am

Jutty1224 wrote:
Another thought is whether as aspies, if others see us as incapable and therefore don't pay us as much?

Did you tell the company when you interviewed you were Aspie? Are there people doing the same job as you (and as long as you) on more money?

racheypie666
Veteran
Veteran

02 May 2023, 11:02 am

I think that aspies can sometimes be more capable than neurotypical people, depending on the job.

For example, I'd put money on there being many single, financially independent aspies in tech.