Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

DuckHairback
Veteran
Veteran

09 Jul 2023, 5:49 am

I want to hear from anyone who is good, or I guess bad, with money. I wanted to talk about this more in another thread I was reading but it wasn't about money so didn't want to derail.

I'm pretty terrible with money. I was never taught anything about money, my family was not good with money. When I was young my family seemed to have lots of money, we had a really nice house and kept horses and stuff. But the late 80s recession did for all that. I'm not expecting to inherit very much.

I've always worked, but I've never earned enough to save, I don't own my home, I don't have a pension, I still run out of money at the end of the month like I used to when I was a student. I used to have a bit of debt but that's dealt with now, I have at least learned to live more or less within my means. But it's getting a bit scary because most people I know my age are at least a little sorted with regards to their financial futures. I don't even know if state pensions will still be a thing by the time I'm old enough to get one.

But I also seem to hate having money. When I get it unexpectedly, I feel a compulsion to get rid of it. Or maybe, because I live so close to the edge financially, by the time money unexpectedly turns up there's often a long list of things that have been waiting for it.

I'd like to be better with money. I don't even know where you go to learn about it, really.

Is anyone here good with money? What are the basics? Are there any good books I can read?

bee33
Veteran
Veteran

09 Jul 2023, 9:22 am

I'm good with money, but it's because I've always been very frugal. My parents were also frugal, even though they didn't have to be. I think it's because they lived through WWII in Europe and they became very conscious of not wasting anything, because there was rationing and sometimes particular foods were hard to come by. So I get it from them.