Page 1 of 1 [ 1 post ] 

ASPartOfMe
Veteran
Veteran

17 Aug 2023, 6:55 am

Cork woman Evaleen Whelton who only learned she was autistic aged 37, tells us how her life has changed since and why we shouldn't be so quick to only see the negative side

Quote:
The stereotype of autism that is presented to us in the media is usually that of a male figure, who is either a mathematical genius or a young boy who is non-verbal. While some autistic people may fit into this depiction, we must remember that autistic people are just as varied as neurotypical people – and these stereotypes often lead to autistic people missing out on identification and vital supports and therapies, and there is growing body of research that shows women have being under diagnosed for years.

“Incan’t even remember what life was like before,” she says. “I’ve changed so much since", she admits.

Evaleen, who lives outside Bandon in Co. Cork, is a speech and drama teacher by trade. She founded AUsome Training, an autistic-led and neurodiversity training company, which aims to combat the outdated stereotypes autistic people face.

She also organises the AUsome Autism Conference, which was Ireland’s first-ever all autistic conference.

The Cork woman says having a word like autism to describe her life is helpful to her.

Evaleen threw herself into research about autism and neurodivergency after she was assessed. “It became my special interest,” she says. “I am really interested in studying autism outside of a medical setting.”

And she admits that being autistic often involves a “lifetime of trauma” but compassion is what is missing for a lot of people. “Usually everything about autism is framed negatively,” she says. “We need to try and frame things more neutrally. This is how we are, and the stigma arises from how other people interpret us.”