Friends that don't know you well enough

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

shortfatbalduglyman
Veteran
Veteran

15 Oct 2023, 4:52 am

If you realized that you knew a friend for over ten years and they hardly knew anything about you, how would you respond?

This friend has not done anything bad or wrong, thus far, that I know of. It's just that when I talk he doesn't (1) hear (2) care (3) understand (4) believe (5) remember. He keeps pressuring me to get a different job, and do things that sound like good strategies, but he doesn't understand the situation and he doesn't believe me when I tried to explain. That doesn't sound like a deal breaker, but the only interaction we have is email. When I email him about a lot of things, he just answers by telling me to get a better job at the same company. We do not just hang out or anything like that. Once in a while I see him at trader Joe's, but we don't have much interaction. He is 60 and I am 40. He keeps reminding me that I have a college degree, but that was 16 years ago. None of the jobs that I have gotten involved a high school diploma, much less a bachelor's degree. I keep trying to explain him about Asperger's but he acts like he knows better than me. He keeps pressuring me to tell the company that I have a degree. But home Depot is different from other companies in some ways. Home Depot is not going to just promote me for a degree that I got 16 years ago. None of the jobs at the store level require a degree. He totally overvalues the degree. He is obsessed with the degree . He has plenty of friends and I do not (monopolistic competition).

How would you deal that him? Or would you just ignore it? There is no awesome reason why he just "has" to know me very well. Besides, even my counselors and parents (when they were alive) didn't know me that well either.